Panorama X, apparently still not ready for prime time

Sigh. It had been a good three years since the last time I’d downloaded Panorama X. I’ve been coding since 1978, and have used dozens of IDEs and many languages and platforms. I’ve had a soft spot in my heart for Panorama since I used it for a work project back in the mid ’90s.

After I downloaded the current version (apparently you want everyone to use the beta, released three months ago, since I was given no choice) and moved it to my Applications folder, I launched it.

And was presented with a modal dialog box asking me to take a survey. I spent a few minutes filling it out, going so far as to add a bunch of databases and programming languages in the free-form comments that hadn’t been offered as choices on the relevant panel.

And then I attempted to submit the survey. I was told that my email address was “invalid.” ”Interesting,” I thought. “I must have made a typo.” Double-checked it. It was fine. Changed it to a different one. Still registered as “invalid.”

[Normally at this point in writing up a bug report, I would go back and attempt to do everything a second time, so that I could get the exact wording of error messages and report accurately on exactly what happened when. When I re-launch Panorama, I am not now invited to submit a survey, so I cannot do these basic steps, for which I apologize.]

I could not cancel the survey, and I could not submit it because Panorama insisted my perfectly normal email address was “invalid.” At some point, a modal dialog box popped up over the modal survey dialog, reporting an error that I cannot at this point remember (and, as I wrote above, I cannot get it to show up again because I cannot re-enter the survey). Pressing the sole button on the modal error dialog box accomplished nothing. The modal error dialog wouldn’t go away, and the modal survey box behind it wouldn’t go away either.

I finally force-quit Panorama X 10.2.0 b33.