Linking for beginner: relate datasheets that share one field

Please help me get over this early hurdle in my use of Panorama (X — I have never used Panorama before).

At its simplest (I think), my question is: how do I link two datasheets that share a common field?

Note that I bring the mental prejudice of thinking that it makes sense to link my data at the datasheets that contain it. Further, this is for data entry and acquisition, not for retrieval.

As an example, consider the Checkbook created in the superb PanX tutorial (#301ff, found in Help). One of the fields used is “Category”. The tutorial uses the PanX feature Clairvoyance(™) to help the user populate this field and minimize data entry errors. Were the tutorial to continue developing the Checkbook database, it should cover making the Category field into its own datasheet so that the user could store additional information about each category (e.g.: tax relationship). How would that be done? How would the datasheets be linked so that the user could add fields to hold data about each category, limit categories in the Checkbook datasheet to records in the Categories datasheet (or force creating a new record in the Categories datasheet when entering a new category in the Checkbook datasheet)? (Again, this is just to have an example; I think the application of this kind of spawning of children datasheets that share a field is universal.)

I have sought a solution in the Help file and here in this forum. @admin says:

@JeffK offered me this:

I cannot figure out how the link is done (and am stymied at the conception of this as an “as-needed” operation rather than a structural member of the data-storage-and-retrieval system).

This has come up before, without, afaict, any resolution.

I assume @billconable’s comment applies to me:

Thanks for your consideration.

1 Like

You got to get that FileMaker type of thinking out of the way.