Illegal Field name or arrayselectedbuild bug?

A file I’ve been using for 20 years has developed a problem.
Simplified I have a field CODE# and a field BALANCE. Both are integer fields.

When I run the following code:

local lvArray
arrayselectedbuild lvArray,cr(),"", «BALANCE»+tab()+«CODE#»
displaydata lvArray

The data in CODE# does not show up. If I change the field name to CODEX, the arrayselectedbuild gets the data. Is the hashtag a forbidden character?

No, there is not forbidden character in a field name (except for » I suppose). A hashtag should be fine, as long as the field name is surrounded by « and », as you have done. From the information you have provided, I cannot tell you what the problem is.

The code you have supplied has definitely not been working for 20 years, it would not work in Panorama 6 or earlier, which required that numeric fields be explicitly converted to text with either the str( or pattern( function. Your code does look ok for Panorama X.

I made a database with the same field names you used, and tried out your exact code (I copy/pasted it from the forum, so I would use the exact same code). As you can see, it worked fine (I did add the width/height options to displaydata, but made no other change to your code):

Is there any chance that you have two CODE# fields in your database. Normally Panorama X won’t let that happen, but I think if you transferred over a Panorama 6 database with two fields with the same name it would allow it. But this could cause the symptoms you describe.

Or, perhaps more likely, if you have a global or fileglobal variable named CODE#, that would cause this problem. I just verified this with this code, which produces the symptoms you describe:

local lvArray
letfileglobal «CODE#» =""
arrayselectedbuild lvArray,cr(),"", «BALANCE»+tab()+«CODE#»
displaydata lvArray,{width=400 height=300}

An easy way to verify this is to open the Formula Workshop and try this formula:

filevariablevalue("CODE#")