How do I set up a Time Stamp field?

Greetings all! I’m very new to Panorama—so I hope you’ll have patience with some rather basic questions…

This first one is about how to set up a Time Stamp field in my database. I realised this was a possibility when I saw it on the General tab in the Database Options. But “Time Stamp Field” said “none”, and in one database the dropdown list had two of my own date fields—but they didn’t work to record a time stamp; and in the other database there were no fields in the dropdown list. So that seemed like a dead end…

I then searched for Time Stamp in Help, and there I found the “timestampstr(” function. I tried to use this as a procedure in a new Text Display field, but it said that “timestamptstr” (with or without one or two parentheses at the end) was an “unknown statement”.

So I’m stuck: How do I get a field on my form that will display the time stamp when that record was last edited?

Thanks for your help!

Create your field (TimeStampField) to receive the time stamp, then set a procedure:
TimeStampField = timestampstr()
The field will then show something like: 2019.02.05.08.24.49.700

I’m not sure why your date fields were listed. I couldn’t duplicate that. In order for a field to be designated as a time stamp field, it needs to have an “Integer” datatype. Once the field has been designated as a time stamp field, editing any cell in the current record will cause a number to be put into that field. The number is the number of seconds since January 1, 1904. Panorama calls this number a “superdate”. There are several functions for converting superdates to user friendly text. You can find them discussed in the Help file.