How to run a procedure on all records for a field

This is so straight-forward that it’s embarassing that I’ve not figured this out, but I’m new to PanoramaX.

Here’s a simplified case of what I’m doing. I want to fill in “field3” based on other fields (“type” and “field2”). Since I want to fill in “field3” for all records, I think I want to use Morph. But, it’s a bit complicated so I put the calculation in a procedure. Here is my procedure “calc_3”:

local result
if «type»="a"
    result=«field2»*200
elseif «type»="b"
    result=«field2»*17
else
    result=0
endif
functionvalue result

When I try to Morph to fill in “field3” I’m doing:

click “field3” -> click Morph -> Morph Current Field…
use “Start with Formula” and fill in formula:

call("","calc_3")

But the After result never fills in. By altering the procedure, I can get it to fill in “field3” one record at a time (not using Morph), but that’s not much help in this case (over 250,000 records).

Suggestions?

You have to enter a formula there; you can’t call a procedure. Formulas contain functions only, no procedure statements.
Try this formula:

?(type="a",field2*200,?(type="b",field2*17,0))

This isn’t really true. The exact point of the call( function is to allow procedure code to be used in a formula. I think @danbolling has done this correctly, so the question remains, why didn’t it work?