Volume Path Variations

It seems that there are inconsistencies in how Panorama handles the paths of volumes. If I drag a file from a mounted volume, the path that Panorama gives me is something like “/Volumes/jamescook/Files”.

But if I want to list or otherwise access the files there that path doesn’t do it. For one thing, with three computers and each one in this case with me as a user, that much can exist on every mounted volume. To list files, I need to add more, in essence: “/Volumes/Macintosh HD/Users/jamescook/Files”

How can I capture the complete path when a user clicks a button or drags a file to indicate the location of a file or folder?

That seems wrong. /Volumes/ should be followed by a drive name.

I’m not sure how that will work if each of the three computers has the same disk name.

That said, this is really a UNIX question – I’m not an expert in this area. Panorama just reflects what UNIX is doing.

The disks do need different names. Once you get past that, most have structures we don’t have a lot to say about, such as Users, Library, …

The only part I’d hope Panorama can help me with in that is in getting the full name on that drag at the outset.

Where are you dragging it from? Something in the Finder? That’s where the path is coming from. Panorama is just the receiver of the drag, it’s not originating the information. Panorama can only give you what the sending application supplies.

1 Like

It has been presented here many times that an easy and reliable way to get a path is to drag a file onto a Text Editor. The path is then entered into the cell.

I’m really reaching here, because I only have one computer to play with, but when I tried mounting two disk images with identical names, they appeared identical in the Finder, but dragging files from them into a Panorama window resulted in something like “Drive Name” and “Drive Name 1”. “Drive Name 1” was the second one to be mounted.