Text Import Questions

I’m just a sales vice president that needs to analyze data. I’ve tried pretty hard, but I just don’t get it. I can’t even import a simple csv, or even the sample data - It won’t let me add more than one field, field headers are numbers, etc… I successfully imported some existing Pan databases, but working the app is so unintuitive and frankly slower.

I take it I’m not in your target market. Sorry to have wasted your time and mine. How do I get a refund on my $100?

Hi Stephen
If you want to try a little more and would like some help, I would be glad to do that. I have been using Panorama since the mid-1990s, and consider myself a mid-level user. I set up and managed several databases in my law firm and know how to analyze and manipulate financial data. If that’s of interest, feel free to email me at tgcooper@mac.com. Best of all, my help is free.
BTW, Panorama is very powerful program, so that it necessarily has some additional complexity. Even so, there are many tools to do basic things. And you or I can get a lot of very excellent help on this forum. I sounds like you might prefer Excel, which, of course can be used for lots of data manipulation and analysis, but personally I have never done anything beyond the basics with it.
Tom Cooper

I’m feeling his pain. I open a new Pano X file and it defaults to 1 field named A. I am wanting to import a text file so I use the Find & Open, but am frustrated that it only displays Panorama databases instead of letting me open the text file and import it.

I then find the Import/Text Import Wizard and feel a bit of confidence that something smarter than I will help me. I select the file and the result is a dialog stating that the database contains insufficient fields to import all the data. The last x columns were ignored.

This does not seem to be the easy path to get a text file imported.