Strategies for avoiding the use of global variables

Having been much criticised for my frequent use of global variables, I am anxious to mend my ways and become a responsible Panorama X citizen but I can’t see how to do that with my current project.

In my nascent farm management system, comprising about ten databases, I have a master database, A, which, in its .Init procedure, opens several others, extracts data from them and stores it in four or five data dictionaries. These dictionaries are accessed in a multitude of procedures in several other databases and in the Object Inspector panels of a heap of forms.

Declaring the dictionaries as global variables is the simple and foolproof approach. How else might I handle it?

Michael, you have my vote. Making dictionary contents available to a number of files is about the only way I use a global now.

David

For being hooked on global variables, can’t we blame Jim? Back at the dawn of time Panorama had no variables, then Jim introduced local and global variables, just the two. From memory it was some more years before fileglobals made their appearance, and following that some more years, wasn’t it, before grabfilevariable( came along to make fileglobals accessible from other databases?

We became addicted to globals long before we realised they were so bad for us.