Primer for non-Pano DB user?

Hello everyone,

Like many of you, I have some experience with relational DBs, dcoument-based DBs, object-based DBs etc.

I’ve tried looking in the forum and in the help for documents that will help someone who is new to Panorama X get up to speed quickly. The tutorials were a good starting point but they don’t really address some questions I have. For example:

1. In a relational database, table joins provide the structure and enforce relational integrity. How is this performed in PanX? Is there an equivalent? What about cascading deletes?
  2. What is the maximum size of a field?
  3. Can PanX be accessed using ODBC/xBDC?

I feel PanX has a lot of potential and am already a subscriber, but it’s a competitive field out there and more information is needed to assess why PanX would be a suitable solution. I’m not talking about buzzwords like “64-bit in-memory” which most people wouldn’t be able to appreciate. For example the morphing ability is a clear winner, which as everyone knows, ETL is a major pain for database users. Would really appreciate if there’s a document out there that says “this feature will save you time/money if you’re used to doing X in another database”. Or even being honest like “This feature that you take for granted in X database is not available in PanX, but here’s a workaround” or something to that effect.

Thanks for reading this.

Actually, I suspect almost no one on this forum has experience with these other types of database systems. Panorama is not intended to be a drop-in replacement for SQL systems, the terminology and functionality are quite different, and (perhaps unfortunately), we rarely get questions from SQL users.

1. Panorama does not have an equivalent of an SQL join operation, and it doesn’t enforce relational integrity. To learn about the options Panorama does have for linking different databases (which in SQL would be called tables), see this help page: