I miss ==! (Assign with calculations.)

I spent some time last night tracking down something that was caused by the lack of == in Panorama X. Is there any chance that we will get it back?

One thing I’ve tried to do when possible in Panorama X is rectify bad design decisions made over the years in the development of Panorama. Hopefully I’m a more knowledgeable programmer than I was 30 years ago, and I also have the benefit of dealing with thousands of tech support issues over the decades.

In my opinion == was a mistake. The primary problem is that it is very easy to miss that extra = character, which can cause a huge change in the operation of a program. If you have a page of code and are trying to figure out what is going wrong, it is very easy to not notice the difference between

Field = some formula

and

Field == some formula

This is something that has definitely come up in tech support, and caused some users great confusion.

Another problem is that many popular programming languages, including C and Javascript, use == for something completely different. Unlike Panorama, where == is fairly obscure and only a few users use it, in these languages == is an important feature that is used constantly. If the only language you ever use is Panorama, this isn’t going to be a problem for you, but for tens (maybe even hundreds) of millions of potential Panorama users that already know these other languages, the way Panorama previously used == will be very confusing. A primary goal of Panorama X is to expand Panorama usage to new customers, so I’d prefer not to include a feature that will be so confusing to so many potential customers.

You may not be aware, but Panorama X does have two methods for performing the calculations associated with a field in a procedure. The runfieldcalculations statement runs all of the formulas associated with a field. The runfieldsideeffects statement runs the formulas, and also runs any code associated with a formula.