Generate UUID (GUID) in Panorama X

I am new to Panorama X and would like to migrate datasets from both Filemaker and Xojo (SQLite) to Panorama X. These datasets use UUIDs for primary keys and I need to be able to generate a UUID when a new record is added.

My web search has pointed me to:
[Apple Developer Documentation]
and
[Apple Developer Documentation]

plus other sources such as
[https://www.cryptosys.net/pki/uuid-rfc4122.html]

I have no experience delving into the bit/byte/word/hex functions to brute-force this on my own (but I will try my best if I need to) so hope that a solution for Panorama X is already out there somewhere.

Advice please.
Kenneth James

This formula

hexstr(0x100000000*rnd())[-8,-1]+"-"+hexstr(0x10000*rnd())[-4,-1]+"-"
+hexstr(0x10000*rnd())[-4,-1]+"-"+hexstr(0x10000*rnd())[-4,-1]+"-"
+hexstr(0x100000000*rnd())[-8,-1]+hexstr(0x10000*rnd())[-4,-1]

Will give you an ASCII string that looks like this.

639CBDFC-B719-3E32-3E40-6246CA20E81D

This formula will give you 128 random bits of binary data.

longword(0x100000000*rnd())+longword(0x100000000*rnd())
+longword(0x100000000*rnd())+longword(0x100000000*rnd())

I’m not sure which you require.

Well, looking at this as a specialized string of text instead of a specialized group of hexadecimal numbers I came up with my own solution. This uses the looparray to generate the 36 characters consisting of the hex numbers and the “-” character. By first creating a ghost array of 35 carriage returns to drive the looparray to cycle 36 times we can then create each character in turn and account for the needed “-” characters as well as the “4” for the 15th character and reduced range used for the 20th character. Here is the code I used:

local x,y,z
x=rep(cr(),35)
y=""
z="0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,A,B,C,D,E,F"
looparray x,cr(),element,index
    if index=9 or index=14 or index=19 or index=24
        y=y+"-"
    elseif index=15
        y=y+"4"
    elseif index=20