Displaying Time

Hi,

I’m new to PanoramaX coming from Filemaker.

How do I get a field to display the time? I’ve tried dates and timepattern, but cannot seem to get this to work.

I’m trying to get to know PanoramaX and creating a simple water intake tracker. I want to log the date and time of each entry as well as the amount in ml. I’ve managed the date and the amount, but the time baffles me.

many thanks

Simon

To enter the current time into a text field you could use longtimestr(now()) which would enter something similar to 9:26:11 AM.

Among many ways…

In a .NewRecord procedure with text fields named TimeField and DateField:

TimeField = timepattern(Now(),"hh:mm am/pm")
DateField = datepattern(today(),"mm/dd/yy")

Or with with numeric fields named TimeField and DateField:

TimeField = Now()
DateField = Today()

Or with a numeric field named TimeStamp:

TimeStamp = SuperDate(Today(),Now())

A .NewRecord procedure runs automatically whenever a record is added.

Thank guys, this was a great help.

Gary’s worked as a procedure as did James’s first set. But after setting the field to numeric integer the last two of James suggestions just gave me a field with long numbers. Not sure what I’m doing wrong here.

But it is working!

PanoramaX stores dates, time or both together, aka Superdates, as long integers. In that form you can sort, select or make calculations based on date and/or time. If you want to see them in human readable forms then you’ll need to convert them to text in whatever format you wish. Panorama can also convert many text formats to date and/or time integer values for you. There is is a full range of built in functions to work with time and dates. Most of it is discussed in these four help pages:

Date Arithmetic Formulas
Date Patterns
Time Arithmetic Formulas
Superdates