Attachment Handling (e.g. Images, Video & Audio). PanX suitability

I’ve been researching databases for a while now, trying to determine which application is best for my use case. I am a music teacher looking to use a database to help organize the logistics of my program, including demographics and class organization as well as retain and grade student in work in images, PDFs, video and audio.

I’ve narrowed down my choices to Filemaker and Panorama. I’m intrigued by the upcoming release of Panorama X for its programmability and speed. However, I’m concerned about how PanX will handle all I want to “throw at it” in media representing student work.

I believe Filemaker (from my remembrance using it years ago) stored “attachments” in “containers” within records. How does Panorama X handle the storage of media within records?

If PanX has to pull all the media into RAM, I would think that would be a non-starter for the amount of images, video and audio I’d be incorporating. Does it store such attachments in an app container folder on disk? If Panorama X isn’t really suited to this use case, I’m willing to accept that and move on. Any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks!

As somebody who has used both apps for years, Panorama has always been more capable of handling anything you “throw at it”.

You can store media in a folder or folders anywhere on disk and create links to the attachments.

Thanks for the quick reply. A follow up…

If I want to move the database to another computer, will the links be retained if I, for example, store all the attachments in a “PanX Attachments” folder, then move the database file and attachments folder to the new computer?

Yes. I would suggest most always storing the attachments outside of Panorama and using a relative or absolute link (your choice) to where those attachments are kept. You can at any time move the attachments and then just update the link to point to the new location.

Robert Ameeti