Adding Date Picker (Calendar Selector) to Form Date Field

Hi. I’m brand new to Panorama X (moving from FileMaker). So far, so good. Is there a way to add a date picker to a form’s date field(s)? I use these frequently because they make it easier to select the correct date. Obviously, having to manually enter a date value is not a tremendous burden, but pickers are pretty handy. Thanks.

It’s a small project to build one from a calendar matrix.

I just built that one, using the construct menu, and then making some modifications.

Dave, While what you’ve done is pretty easy, the reality is calendar pickers are commonly seen as ‘tools’ that are already pre-built. Your demo does show how easy it can be, but I’m imagining that many newer users might appreciate a few choices to pick from and move on with a choice. It was not a stretch to imagine some amazing piece of work suddenly appearing from one of our over the top talented, too much time of their hands professionals. We have one guy who has 4 letters in his name and it starts with G and he regularly blows us away with his talents for this kind of stuff. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Put the pressure on me why don’t you.:blush:

Anyway, here is my approach to the problem…

The form requires these objects set as noted:

Three Popup Menu Objects:
    1. The year popup - Data set as theYear and Mode to Formula:
            arrayfilter(rep(cr(),20),cr(),{seq()+val(datepattern(today(),"yyyy"))-11})
        Procedure Code:
            theMonth="January"
            theDay="01"
            showvariables theMonth, theDay

2. The month popup - Data set as theMonth and Mode to Formula:
            arrayfilter(rep(cr(),11),cr(),{datepattern(date(str(seq())+"/1/2017"),"Month")})

3. The day popup - Data set as theDay and Mode to Formula:
            arrayfilter(rep(cr(),monthlength(date(theMonth+" 1, "+theYear))-1),cr(),{pattern(seq(),"##")})

4. An optional Text Display Object with Mode to Formula: